Witch’s Milk

So…Quinn had what I would call especially prominent nipples, not really visibly but when palpated you could certainly feel that there was more than what was visible on he surface. Being a nurse and just naturally curious I did what any half insane parent would do and I squeezed them. Sure enough milk came out, not a ton but enough that I could tell it was in fact milk and not anything purulent or nasty. My first reaction was “What the heck?”, but then I remembered all the hormones mom is passing on to the little guy. After a “Google consult” I found several references but not as many as I expected. After a little more digging, I found it is common enough but not extremely common. About 5% of newborns have “Witch’s Milk” or galactorrhea. From the research I have done the concerns are similar to those of the mother who is lactating. Most importantly is mastitis, which can occur when a milk duct gets blocked or infected. Caren with tell the pediatrician on Monday, but I don’t think we need to be more concerned than that.

One response to “Witch’s Milk

Leave a Reply

